Wallflower memories.

Looking back at a blog I wrote briefly my senior year of high school, I found a poem I wrote right after reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower. 

Here it is, circa February 2003:

(untitled)
incessant drumming of rain
the pulse of the ocean
the ocean of emptiness
ocean enclosed
ocean of souls
souls joined yet seperated
in these encasements of flesh
in this ocean, there’s no ledge to stand on
and no way out of the hopelessness
so i put on these rose-colored glasses
and pretend away the pain, but
who am i really saving?
myself?
or anyone else who might
feel empathy at my despair?
i can’t afford to blindfold myself anymore
i’ve done too much of that
and now my eyes are weary
and my head aches, but
i’ve got to take the time
to learn why
every time it storms i want to cry

Leave a Reply

